Animistic Apparatus presents an overnight screening of Lav Diaz’s epic film—projected outdoors continuously and ending around sunrise—as a nocturnal offering to the spirits of place and the ecology of visible and invisible beings of Berwick-upon-Tweed.

Lav Diaz
Philippines, Singapore
Fri 20/09 - Sat 21/09
485 mins
Rose Garden & Park

A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery is a cinematic address to José Rizal’s foundational Filipino novel El Filibusterismo, set during the Spanish crushing of Filipino independence. A search party combs the forest looking for the body of revolutionary leader Andres Bonifacio. They encounter the half-horse tikbalang and other mythical creatures from Filipino lore, who lure the lost to the great liberator’s phantasmatic promised land. As the smoke rises, the destroyed young men of the nation-to-be—imagined afterlives of characters from Rizal’s novels—struggle to resist succumbing to nihilism.

"This expansive and richly detailed story is to the screen what 'War and Peace' is to literature. Tracing various character paths and threads throughout the Philippine Revolution of 1896-97, the embroidery on display through calculated measures that redefine patience weave urban legends, local traditions, real-life artistic expressions with the most sensitive chapter of Philippine history." —Nikola Grozdanovic, Indiewire

Lav Diaz

Lav Diaz (1958) studied economics at the University of Notre Dame and attended the Mowelfund Film Institute in Manila. His nine-hour film Death in the Land of Encantos (2007) received a Special Mention at Jeonju International Film Festival, Melancholia (2008) won the Venice Horizons Award at Venice International Film Festival, From What Is Before (2014) received the Golden Leopard at Locarno International Film Festival, A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (2016) was awarded the Alfred Bauer Prize at Berlinale, and The Woman Who Left (2016) won the Golden Lion at Venice International Film Festival. Diaz is also a screenwriter and musician.


The Halt (2019), Journey (2018), The Boy Who Chose the Earth (2018), Season of the Devil (2018), The Woman Who Left (2016), The Day Before the End (2016), A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery (2016), Fragment (2015), Storm Children: Book One (2014), From What is Before (2014), Prologue to the Great Desaparecido (2013), The Firefly (2013), Norte, The End of History (2013), An Investigation on the Night That Won't Forget (2012), Florentina Hubaldo, CTE (2012), Century of Birthing (2011), Elegy to the Visitor from the Revolution (2011), 'Butterflies Have No Memories' in Visitors (with Naomi Kawase and Hong Sang-soo, 2009), Purgatorio (2008), Melancholia (2008), Death in the Land of Encantos (2007), Heremias (Book One: The Legend of the Lizard Princess) (2006), 'Nang Matapos Ang Ulan' in Imahe nasyon (2006), Evolution of a Filipino Family (2004), Jesus the Revolutionary (2002), Batang West Side (2001), Naked Under the Moon (1999), Burger Boy's (1999), Serafin Geronimo: The Criminal of Barrio Concepcion (1998)