In Allegro Largo Triste (2017), Froment films the polyphonic music of Franco Melis, a Sardinian musician and launeddas player, one of the most ancient musical instruments in Europe. Instruments consist of three reed pipes, with a five-note reed on each hand plus a drone. The player uses circular breathing, playing all three pipes simultaneously to accompany dancers or religious processions. 

Aurélien Froment
United Kingdom, France
Thu 21/09 - Sun 24/09
36 mins
Coxon’s Tower

Traditionally, each musician was trained by a master who instructed him in the playing technique, the repertoire and the manufacture of the instruments. Franco Melis (°1958, Tuili), is the last of a long lineage of players. Aurélien Froment’s film follows the uninterrupted flow of the music, drawing an unbroken invisible thread between Franco Melis and the little bronze Nuragic statue from the archaeological museum in Cagliari.

With cinematography from Margaret Salmon.

Aurélien Froment

Born in Angers, France

Lives in Edinburgh, Scotland

With photography, exhibition, and film, Froment's work explores and re-stages the work of others, transposing it from one medium to another and producing a conflicted series of details from the world. In the most recent years, he has presented solo exhibitions at CAG (Vancouver), Villa Arson (Nice), Spike Island (Bristol), FRAC Ile-de-France (Paris), Badischer Kunstverein (Karlsruhe), Heidelberger Kunstverein (Heidelberg), NCAD Gallery (Dublin), Bunkier Sztuki (Krakow) as well as survey exhibitions at Musée de Rochechouart (2011), Les Abattoirs (Toulouse, 2016) and M-Museum (Leuven, 2017).

His work has been shown internationally in group exhibitions and Biennales, including Palais de Tokyo, Kunsthalle Basel, Tate Britain, Van Abbe Museum, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Mudam, Artists Space, CCA Glasgow, Sculpture Center, SF MoMA, Pinchuk Art Center, Turner Contemporary, ACCA Melbourne, New Museum, Gwangju Biennale (2010), Yokohama Triennale (2011), Venice Biennale (2013), Sydney Biennale (2014) and Dakar Biennale (2016).


Allegro Largo Triste (2017), Le Chant du monde (2017), Apocalypse (2017), Non alignés (Hema Malini Sy/Daouda Ndao) (2016), Non alignés (Ousmane Diallo) (2016), Non alignés (Fatim Diop) (2016), Camillo's Idea (2013), 9 Intervals (2012), Le Yoga par l'image (2011), La Tectonique des plaques (2011), Second Gift (2010-2012), Pulmo Marina (2010), Fourdrinier Machine Interlude (2010), L’Adaptation manifeste (2008), Théâtre de poche (2007), The Apse, the Bell and the Antelope (2005), Fondation (2003), Debuilding (2001)