The very best in artists’ moving image and new filmmaking

The Berwick New Cinema Award was designed by Glasgow-based ceramicist Mariella Verkerk and included a £1000 award generously supported by Outset Scotland.

The 2018 jury were 2017 Berwick New Cinema Award winner Sky Hopinka, Film producer and distributer Sonali Joshi and artist filmmaker Gail Pickering.

The Berwick New Cinema programme was researched and selected by Festival Director Peter Taylor in collaboration with Associate Programmers Letitia Calin, Ben Pointeker, Herb Shellenberger, Becca Voelcker and Hamish Young.

The full 2018 Berwick New Cinema line-up can be viewed here.

2018 winner

Callum Hill Crowtrap

United Kingdom201814 mins

2018 Jury’s decision

Crowtrap by Callum Hill elegantly weaves together personal and national narratives, carrying us along a journey through a quiet fury of voice. Reflecting on the melancholy of bearing witness and remembering, it raises questions of where do we go now, and what does the idea of we even mean. The image and the voice are strands layered tightly yet float freely through deft cinematography and editing. There is something fresh, and familiar about this film.
Other pages in this section